top of page



Clyst Valley Choral Society was formed in 1968 by David and Pam Howes . They were keen to have a group which would unite the Clyst Valley Group of Parishes: Aylesbeare, Rockbeare, Farringdon, Woodbury Salterton, Clyst St. George and Clyst St. Mary.
They persuaded local organist, David Lyon-Smith, to become the society's first conductor and Bernard Russell, their first accompanist. Only five people attended the first rehearsal, but the membership soon grew to twenty-five.

In the 1970's the choir moved to its new home at Clyst St. Mary Church, where rehearsals still take place each Thursday.

The society celebrated its fortieth anniversary in 2008 and to mark this special occasion Rossini's Stabat Mater was performed.

After nearly fifty years, the founders of the Society would be pleased with how their vision of 1968 has evolved – a society where anyone who loves to sing can enjoy making music together.

Musical Directors

1968-1970    David Lyon-Smith

1970-1981     Rodney Dingle

1981-1987     Mark Perry

1987-1992    John Draisey

1992              Rodney Dingle

1992-1997    Nicky Perry

1997-            Paul Stock

Works performed have ranged from Baroque to Twentieth Century, from English to Danish, with some Jazz, Opera and Lieder. Our main concerts always include a chamber ensemble as well as an organ, making our concerts different to the standard choral society. We also like to include instrumental and vocal solos in addition to the main choral works. Please see slide show above for an idea of some past concert programmes. 





New members welcome. 

bottom of page